Mapua Institue of Technology Phil-LiDAR 1 Turns Over Flood Hazard Maps to CaBaZon and Cam Norte LGUs

The Mapua Phil-LiDAR 1 Program recently held its Maps Turnover Ceremony at The Bayleaf Hotel, Intramuros, Manila last March 16, 2017. Flood Hazard Maps and other LiDAR data were
distributed to 35 municipalities in the provinces of Cavite, Batangas, Quezon, and Camarines Norte with the event having 68 LGU representatives.

Prior to the actual turnover of maps were messages from Dr. Reynaldo B. Vea, President of Mapua Institue of Technology; Dr. Francis Aldrine Uy, Dean of Mapua School of Civil, Environmental and Geological Engineering and Project Leader of Mapua Phil-LiDAR 1; and Dr. Enrico C. Paringit, Program Leader of Phil-LiDAR 1.

The messages of the honored guests were followed by presentations by Engr. Alben Bagabaldo on Big Data, Engr. Chennie Carissa A. Caja on Automated Water Level Forecasting Sensors (AWLFS), Engr. Mark Edwin Tupas on LiPAD (LiDAR Portal for Archiving and Distribution), and Dr. Alexander R. Madrigal on DOST IV-A's DRRM Projects (CHERM, HYDROMET, DEWS, LGUIDS, and SENTRY).

During the maps turnover ceremony, recipients of the flood hazard maps signed their respective EULAs (End User License Agreements) on behalf of their LGUs, in the presence of Engr. Ruby Magturo of Phil-LiDAR 1's Data Archiving and Distribution (DAD).

After the maps turnover, the Province of Batangas mayors Hon. Gaudioso R. Manalo (Municipality of Lobo), Hon. Rodolfo H. Manalo (Municipality of San Juan), and Hon. Isagani I. Bolompo (Municipality of Lian) expressed their heartfelt thanks to Mapua Institute of Technology and the Phil-LiDAR 1 Program.

In closing, Engr. Fibor Tan delivered the synthesis of the maps turnover ceremony and presented the same-day edit (SDE) video of the event.

The Mapua Phil-LiDAR 1 Program covers the following river systems/basins: Anibawan, Binabang Molino, Bolbok, Calauag, Calumpang, Cañas, Catanauan, Ilang-ilang, Imus, Kilbay-Catabangan, and Labo.

The Mapua Phil-LiDAR 1 Maps Turnover Ceremony was monitored by the DOST-PCIEERD (Philippine Council for Industry, Energy and Emerging Technology Research and Development), represented by
Ms. May-Rose Pariñas and Ms. Ariane Jaraplasan.